EMPIRE MEDIA NG || Keep It Locked 🔐

Professionalism; Our Watchword!

Tuesday, October 02, 2018

Confusion In Ondo APC As NWC Rejects Akeredolu’s Senatorial Candidates, Postpones Primaries

The National Working Committee, NWC of the All Progressives Congress, APC has disqualified all aspirants seeking to dislodge the three senators from Ondo state in next year’s general elections.

In a list which was signed by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Yekini Nabena, only the incumbents, Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo north), Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo central) and Yele Omogunwa (Ondo south) were cleared.

Among those who were not cleared are Chairman of Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko Governing Council, Tunji Abayomi,, former house of assembly speaker, Victor Olabimtan, Ondo representative on the NDDC Board, Lucky Ayedatiwa, Morayo Lebi, Pastor Jide Ipinsagba, Gbenga Elegbeleye,
Dr. Adeoye Julius Olatunji Felder, Mr. Odunayo Akinrinsola and Engr Janet Febisola.

No reason was given for thier disqualification.

Abayomi and Ayedatiwa are believed to be preferred candidates of Governor Rotimi Akeredolu for the primaries in Ondo North and South senatorial districts respectively.

The news has reportedly caused confusion in the camps of Akeredolu and the party chairman, Ade Adetimehin said to be his hatchet man for the emergence of the preferred candidates.

Effort to speak to the party’s spokesman in the state, Alex Kalejaiye on the latest development proved abortive.

However, sources close to Akeredolu say that he is already in touch with the presidency and the NWC to get the decision reversed.

In a related development, the National Working Committee of the party has also postponed the senate primary elections slated for today till tomorrow Wednesday.


No comments:

Post a comment